Premier Award winners

The Denver Post — Angus McDougall Overall Excellence in Editing Award

Paul Hansen of Dagens Nyheter — Photographer of the Year – Newspaper

Paolo Pellegrin of MagnumPhotos — Photographer of the Year – Freelance/Agency

Ezra Shaw of Getty Images — Sports Photographer of the Year

Los Angeles Times for “Dying for Relief” — Documentary Project of the Year Award

David Chancellor of Institute — World Understanding Award

Arnau Bach — Community Awareness Award

Brent Stirton of Getty Images — Environmental Vision Award

Liz O. Baylen of the Los Angeles Times — Multimedia Portfolio of the Year

David Alan Harvey for “Based on a True Story” — Best Photography Book Award


Pictures of the Year International released the complete 70th Annual Winners List at the conclusion of judging the 70th annual competition, setting the mark for excellence for photojournalism and visual journalism in 2012.

Photographer Paul Hansen from the Swedish newspaper Dagens Nyheter and Magnum photographer Paolo Pellegrin achieved premier honors as the two Photographer of the Year recipients for Newspaper and Freelance, respectively, in the 70th annual Pictures of the Year International (POY). The Denver Post set the gold standard for editing by earning the Angus McDougall Overall Excellence in Editing Award.

POY announced winners in two new emerging categories for eBooks and eProjects. The New York Times’ interactive project titled “Snowfall: The Avalanche at Tunnel Creek” won the eProject category. Judges cited two winners in the eBook category by honoring Reuters’ app “The Wider Image” and The San Diego Union-Tribune project “Health Care 911.” They jury panel noted that these three projects set the standard for evolving forms of ePublications.

The complete list of award winners in all 50 categories can be found on the POY website at POY is privileged to announce these premier awards and category winners, with support from the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute and the Missouri School of Journalism.

Pellegrin was named the 2012 Freelance / Agency Photographer of the Year and Hansen was honored as the Newspaper Photographer of the Year, recognizing their work as the world’s premier photojournalists. The judges recognized similar strengths in the work of the two photojournalists — a strong balance of powerful aesthetic with solid journalistic content that reflects the news events, personalities, and social issues of their respective regions. Hansen’s portfolio presented stunning news images from the Gaza conflict and an extended project on the lives of those affected by the 2011 Norway massacre. In honoring Pellegrin’s portfolio, the judges noted the extensive coverage of Palestinian life in Gaza and a photo essay Cuba’s changing social landscape.

POY’s Documentary Project of the Year Award went to the Los Angeles Times for the project titled “Dying for Relief.” The newspaper’s online investigation reports on individuals who battle prescription drug addiction from painkillers like OxyContin and Vicodin. Project photographer Liz O. Baylen also won the premier portfolio category Multimedia Portfolio of the Year.

Among additional prestige awards, David Chancellor won the World Understanding Award for his long-form documentary photography project “Hunters.” The project examines the human-wildlife conflict that exists between man and animal.

Brent Stirton won the Environmental Vision Award for his science and natural history long-term project “God’s Ivory,” that documents the slaughter of elephants by poachers and the illegal ivory trade worldwide.

Arnau Bach earned the Community Awareness Award for “Paris Suburbs” — a project that looks at the young street people of one of Paris’ largest neighborhoods.

Sixteen of the most highly respected professionals in the field of visual journalism reviewed photographs, editing pages, and multimedia pieces in 50 categories during 21 days of judging. The grueling and intense process began on Tuesday, Feb. 5 and continued through Tuesday, Feb. 26.

Pictures of the Year International conducts the international competition as a program of The Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute (RJI) at the Missouri School of Journalism. RJI is journalism's advanced studies center whose mission is to engage media professionals, scholars and other citizens in programs aimed at improving the practice and understanding of journalism in democratic societies. Since its founding in 1944, POYi is the oldest and most prestigious photojournalism competition in the world.

For seven decades, newspaper and magazine photographers have sent their strongest images to be judged in an annual contest started by the late Cliff Edom, the University of Missouri professor who coined the term “photojournalism.”

POYi prides its contest as providing an educational and professional development role within an academic setting. Five students serve as POYi coordinators each year with the assistance of many other student volunteers. The dedicated five — Ben Hoste, Kholood Eid, Kelly Coleman, Naveen Mahadevan, and Alex Scott — sorted thousands of photographs, stories, pages, books, and website links, then orchestrated the technology to display the work during the contest.

A complete list of all the winners may be found online at Selected winning photographs are available upon request. For more information, feel free to contact POYi director Rick Shaw at 573-884-7351 or email

Rick Shaw  
Director of POYi


Related Stories

comments powered by Disqus
MU | Missouri School of Journalism | University of Missouri